Wisconsin Department of Transportation

Alert: The following services will be unavailable on Saturday, January 5, 2013 from 12 a.m. (midnight) to 6 a.m. CST due to system maintenance.

Out-of-state traffic violations

Points are not assessed

No points are assessed for convictions from other states, however, the conviction is entered on the Wisconsin driver record.

Driving privileges may be withdrawn

Check your driver’s license status to know if your license is valid, disqualified (CDL holders), suspended or revoked. You will need your Social Security number and birth date.

Wisconsin takes action on any out-of-state convictions for which Wisconsin statutes require a mandatory suspension or revocation of the operating privilege. Those convictions include:

  • Operating while under the influence or with a prohibited alcohol concentration.
  • Attempting to elude an officer.
  • Failure to stop and render aid after an accident resulting in:
    • Death of another.
    • Great bodily harm.
    • Personal injury to another.
  • Serious property damage (if specified by the court).
  • Injury by negligent operation of a motor vehicle while under the influence.
  • Great bodily harm resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle while under the influence.
  • Homicide resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle while under the influence.
  • Perjury or making a false affidavit or statement to the department.
  • Reckless driving.
  • Vehicle used in the commission of a felony.

Wisconsin will also take action on any out-of-state convictions requiring disqualification of the commercial operating privilege. Even if you hold a valid license from another state, you are not authorized to drive in Wisconsin if your operating privilege is revoked, suspended or disqualified by the State of Wisconsin.

Driver record errors will be corrected

If an out-of-state conviction appears on your Wisconsin driving record in error, you should contact WisDOT at (608) 266-2261. If the conviction was incorrectly entered on your Wisconsin driving record, a correction will be made. It may be necessary for you to contact the convicting court in the other state if Wisconsin's records indicate the conviction was entered correctly.

Most conviction records are kept 5 years

Most traffic convictions are retained on Wisconsin's driving records for 5 years from the date of conviction. However, convictions for Operating While Intoxicated with violation dates on or after January 1, 1989, and certain commercial driving convictions are retained on the Wisconsin driving record for life. (Life is currently defined as 55 years.)

Questions? Contact us: Wisconsin DMV email service

Last modified: April 4, 2011

All external hyperlinks are provided for your information and for the benefit of the general public. The Wisconsin Department of Transportation does not testify to, sponsor or endorse the accuracy of the information provided on externally linked pages. Some pages contain links to other documents and media types (PDF, Word, Flash, Video, etc.) and require free plugins to work. Visit our software information page for assistance.