Wisconsin Department of Transportation

Alert: The following services will be unavailable on Saturday, January 5, 2013 from 12 a.m. (midnight) to 6 a.m. CST due to system maintenance.

Medal of Honor license plates

Medal of Honor license plate

The Medal of Honor (MDH) license plate is a special plate type issued to any Wisconsin resident awarded the Medal of Honor.

Vehicles that qualify

  • Automobiles
  • Motor homes
  • Trucks
    • 4,500, 6,000 or 8,000 pounds gross weight including dual purpose farm and dual purpose motor home
    • 12,000 pounds gross weight farm trucks

Things you should know:

  • There are no issuance or registration fees, and the plates do not expire.
  • The applicant for the MDH plates must be the vehicle owner, co-owner or lessee, or the beneficiary of a trust that owns or leases the vehicle.
  • MDH plates are transferable to another qualifying vehicle.
  • MDH plates cannot be personalized.
  • Plates may be transferred to the surviving spouse or the plate holder and still remain at no fee.
  • No special parking privileges are provided with MDH plates. See Disabled Veteran license plates or Disabled parking identification cards for information about special parking privileges for persons with disabilities that impair the ability to walk.
  • For information about special license plates for ex-prisoners of war, military group or Wisconsin National Guard members, contact the Special Plates unit.

How to apply

To register a vehicle already titled in your name with MDH plates, send:

  • Complete proof of eligibility: DD214/DD215 showing the Medal of Honor award or a copy of official orders.
  • Send a photocopy of your Certificate of Registration.

If the vehicle is NOT titled in your name, send:

  • A completed Title Application, form MV1 or MV11 (available through a dealer) including all fees and taxes.
  • Proof of Eligibility: DD214/DD215 showing the Medal of Honor award or copy of official orders.

Mail to:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
Special Plates Unit
P.O. Box 7911
Madison, WI 53707-7911

Temporary plates required

To legally operate your vehicle, you must display license plates within two business days of purchase. If you do not have current plates, apply to a DMV service center or an agent authorized by DMV to obtain a temporary plate while your Medal of Honor plate order is processed. An agent may charge a $3 plate fee and/or may also charge a $5 service fee.

Release of information

Wisconsin Department of Transportation (WisDOT) uses the information provided on the MV1 form to issue MDH license plates. Under open records laws, WisDOT must make nonexempt information available upon request. If you want your name and address withheld from such business mailing lists, complete and return the Request to Withhold Name and Address form MV3592 or obtain one from any DMV service center.

Previous Back to Special and personalized license plates

Questions? Contact us: Wisconsin DMV email service
Call: (608) 266-3041
Fax: (608) 267-5106

Last modified: March 20, 2009

All external hyperlinks are provided for your information and for the benefit of the general public. The Wisconsin Department of Transportation does not testify to, sponsor or endorse the accuracy of the information provided on externally linked pages. Some pages contain links to other documents and media types (PDF, Word, Flash, Video, etc.) and require free plugins to work. Visit our software information page for assistance.