Wisconsin Department of Transportation

Alert: The following services will be unavailable on Saturday, January 5, 2013 from 12 a.m. (midnight) to 6 a.m. CST due to system maintenance.

Highway Safety Improvement Program (HSIP)

WisDOT Region Map

The Highway Safety Improvement Program (HSIP) funds highway safety projects at sites that have experienced a high crash history. Emphasis is on low-cost options that can be implemented quickly.

The overall objective of HSIP is to develop and implement, on a continuing basis, stand-alone safety projects designed to reduce the number and severity of crashes on all streets and highways (state and local). The federal funding ratio for HSIP funds is usually 90%, requiring a 10% match of state and/or local funds.

The next HSIP application deadline is February 14th, 2014. The Wisconsin Department of Transportation (WisDOT) is currently accepting completed HSIP applications. The application review process will begin after the February 14th deadline. Applications should be submitted to the appropriate WisDOT Regional HSIP Coordinator. HSIP Coordinators are also available to help answer any questions local public agencies have about the HSIP or the application process. The HSIP project application form is available for download below.

Application materials

Other resources

HSIP coordinators

North Central Region
Tom Krizenesky
Thomas.Krizenesky@dot.wi.gov
(715) 365-5779

Northeast Region
Glenn Landis
Glenn.Landis@dot.wi.gov
(920) 492-4110

Northwest Region
Jessica Felix
jessica.felix@dot.wi.gov
(715) 836-5170

Southwest Region
Linda Richardson
linda.richardson@dot.wi.gov
(608) 789-7869

Southeast Region
Robert Schmidt
robert1.schmidt@dot.wi.gov
(262) 548-8789

Central office
Scott Janowiak
scott.janowiak@dot.wi.gov
(608) 266-9911

Questions about the content of this page:
Scott Janowiak, scott.janowiak@dot.wi.gov
Last modified: January 10, 2014

All external hyperlinks are provided for your information and for the benefit of the general public. The Wisconsin Department of Transportation does not testify to, sponsor or endorse the accuracy of the information provided on externally linked pages. Some pages contain links to other documents and media types (PDF, Word, Flash, Video, etc.) and require free plugins to work. Visit our software information page for assistance.